Read And Rave | The Girl With All The Gifts

The Girl With All The Gifts is a novel by M. R. Carey.

There’s been a lot of hype surrounding this book recently as the film has just come out, it’s not the genre I would usually choose as thrillers aren’t really my thing but I was pleasantly surprised. It was recommended to me by a family friend and I have to say for once my scepticism was totally uncalled for.

At four hundred and two pages it’s a modestly sized novel which centres around a young girl – Melanie. When the novel begins Melanie is living in a cell in an underground bunker and attending classes with lots of other children, whilst strapped to a wheelchair, and there’s good reason for it. It is made clear Β from the start that Melanie knows little about her life and why she is treated the way she is, however; with her inquisitive nature also clear to see, we can tell, as readers, that she is going to be the catalyst for most of the action in this thriller.

Carey does an excellent job of making you root for Melanie in a world where, largely, she is isolated by those around her. When you take a step back and evaluate the complexities of Melanie you have to question whether putting her best interest above others is the right thing to do but when I was immersed in the book and in Melanie’s world it never crossed my mind.

Overall I was blown away by this book and it’s bittersweet ending had me left me, although things were neatly wrapped up, desperate not to leave Melanie’s world behind. I urge you to give this novel a go even if thrillers aren’t your usual pick – I promise it’s one of those books that will have you questioning why its genre wasn’t in your repertoire to begin with.

If reading isn’t your thing, the film was faithful enough to the novel, and almost as good!

Have you read The Girl With All The Gifts or seen the film? Did you like it? Are there any other thrillers I should read?

Pinterest ~ Bloglovin ~ Tumblr

Leave a Reply

