Productivity Pact | Day 48 | DIY Hanging Hearts

These hanging hearts are perfect when you need to add a small something to a room but you are not sure what. They are completely customizable and can be hung up, propped up or used as coasters!

You will need:

  • Cardboard
  • Glue/Double sided tape
  • Pictures
  • Scissors
  • Pencil
  • String/Ribbon/Laminating Material
  • Hole punch/Bead

I started by taking my piece of card, which actually was an old tissue box, and drawing a rough sketch of a heart on it. You don’t have to use a heart you could use a flower or diamond etc. Once I was happy with the shape I cut it out.

DSC_0705 copy DSC_0706 copy

Then I took the heart, traced round it and cut out another identical one, this was so I could stick them together to make one thicker heart. Rather than glue I used double sided tape as it stuck well even to the shiny side. After making sure my hearts were well stuck together I printed out some pictures I liked.

DSC_0707 copyDSC_0708 copyDSC_0711 copyDSC_0704 copy

I then arranged these on one side of the heart before using a thin layer of pva glue to stick them. Rather than trying to cut them to shape before hand I stuck them down then simply flipped the heart over and trimmed the excess. Repeat for the other side.

DSC_0712 copy DSC_0715 copy DSC_0716 copy DSC_0717 copy

If using as coasters now is the time you want to laminate your heart, if using as a decoration carry on reading.

You can either take a hole punch and create a hole for your string or if you are unlucky like me and your hole punch can’t reach you may super glue the side of a bead to your cardboard then thread the ribbon through once dry.

DSC_0721 copy DSC_0723 copy

That’s it! Enjoy hanging or displaying your collage wherever you like.

DSC_0734 copy

Thanks for reading, see you tomorrow.

Sophie x

 

 

Leave a Reply

