Productivity Pact | Day 43 | DIY Pallet Sign

I know, I know. This post is a day late – I apologize. I managed to land myself in the A&E department yesterday morning; whilst I am fine it isn’t exactly the best place to sit down and write a blog post so today you will be getting two.

Enough apologizing lets get to the DIY.

For this DIY you will need:

  • A piece of pallet wood, mine is actually a pallet stepping stone
  • Spray paint
  • Primer
  • Paint Brush
  • Tester pot of paint in same colour as spray
  • Scissors
  • Thin cardboard
  • Tape

DSC_0007

The first thing you need to do is decide on the main design you want on your sign. I chose a heart as it is nice and simple. I then took my thin piece of cardboard and cut out the heart shape I wanted, then checked to make sure it fit nicely on the wood. Originally I wanted to just paint the inside of the heart but I decided this was overdone so I took out the middle of my template and used that.

DSC_0008

Once I had done this I taped down my template and took everything outside so I could spray paint. I began by taping down a disposable table cloth to avoid ruining the plastic table then I shook my can of primer and sprayed the entire piece of wood with a thin, even coat – as per the instructions on the bottle.

Blog ready spray paint

It’s important to read the instructions on the bottle of your spray paint carefully as every brand is different. After making sure I had primed correctly I spray painted several thin coats of white over the top of the primer, leaving each one to dry between.

DSC_0027

When I was happy with the coverage of the paint I left it to dry for several hours before coming back to it. Slowly I peeled off my template to reveal a perfect heart in the middle and then, to give it even more of a ‘weathered pallet’ look I sanded the edges.

Untitled copysanding copy

If the edges of your design aren’t perfect you can fix it by going in with the tester pot and a small paintbrush, you could also write something in the middle. This is perfect for hanging up in the house.

Pallet wood heartDSC_0024 copy

Thanks for reading.

Sophie x

5 thoughts on “Productivity Pact | Day 43 | DIY Pallet Sign

Leave a Reply

