Productivity Pact | Day 41 | DIY Photo Effects

Today I really wanted to try out some bokeh with my camera but unfortunately I didn’t have any black poster board so I had to start thinking of something else to do, which is when I realized I could still play about with some cool photo effects just using a piece of normal cardboard.

To do this super simple DIY you will need:

  • Cardboard
  • Scissors
  • Pencil
  • Craft Knife
  • Lens Cap
  • Camera

DSC_0573 copy

Step 1 is to take your lens cap and draw around it onto the cardboard, using a pencil. Then inside the circle draw a small shape, it can be anything. I experimented with hearts, stars and circles.

DSC_0575 copy

Next cut out the circle and the shape inside it, using scissors and a craft knife.

DSC_0576 copy DSC_0578 copy

Either attach your design to your camera lens using some washi tape, or, if you are like me and have a disturbingly real fear of even slightly scratching/denting/injuring your camera in anyway you can just hold it in front whilst you take the photos.

DSC_0592 copy

I told you this DIY would be super simple – now all you have to do is experiment with photos. For this I went outside the usual norm of taking them, I tried different things with my aperture and exposure. Ignore where your camera wants to focus and explore with different textures. I had hours of fun doing so. Also by holding the cardboard in different places I could get loads of different shapes, with this some of the photos you won’t like at all whilst others you will love.

Here are some of my favorites:

DSC_0610 copyDSC_0583 copy DSC_0608 copyDSC_0582 copy

Thanks for reading, see you tomorrow!

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

