Productivity Pact | Day 35 | DIY Chalkboard Dresser

Today I thought I would share another DIY with you, as my sister had a bedside table lying around that was just waiting to be spruced up and do you know what the best part is? This DIY cost under £10. The table itself was only £5 from a charity shop – life just doesn’t get better!

For this DIY you will need:

  • A bedside table
  • Paint Brush
  • Screwdriver
  • Chalkboard Paint
  • Sandpaper

The first thing I did was abrase the surface of where I wanted to paint using fine sandpaper.

DSC_0449 copy DSC_0451 copy

Next I unscrewed the handle using my screwdriver and got to work painting the first coat. I think I did really well considering all I had to do this with was a foam brush!

DSC_0452 copy

I left the first coat to dry for about an hour then came back and added another coat.

DSC_0454 copy

And another after that.

Whilst the last coat was drying I painted the handle and the edges of the door; again both of these required several coats because the paint was water based and very translucent. Once everything had dried I primed the paint by rubbing chalk all over it and then wiping it off with a damp cloth.

DSC_0459 copy DSC_0457 copy DSC_0461 copy

Next came the fun part… drawing on it!

DSC_0455 copy  DSC_0464 copyDSC_0463 copy

Oh and I nearly forgot to screw the handle back on!  I really liked how this turned out and hopefully my sister will too.

DSC_0465 copy

What are your favorite chalkboard projects?

Sophie x

 

 

Leave a Reply

